Chivalry is ALIVE in LA – lessons from a baby

April 3, 2011 was a great day for me as a dad.  My boy is about a year and half years old, and he’s just getting his legs for good walks.  We went on a nice long walk to the park that day, and we came across a little girl also walking in the park (with her mom).  There was an initial stare down between the two little people.

After about a minute of looking at this little princess, Dane walked over to me to grab his sweater.  He then walked back to the little girl and offered her the sweater.  It was a beautiful moment.  My little boy is a natural gentleman.  The mother of the little girl was virtually brought to tears as her little girl looked so flattered.

We live in a world where people look out for themselves.  It’s not very often when I see someone on the 405 allowing someone else to move in to their lane.  In fact, I don’t even give other drivers  much of an option to get in to my lane as I leave around 2 feet of space from the car in front of me.  I think my little boy is giving me a lesson on chivalry and servant leadership.  It’s awesome to watch the instincts of a one and half year old to think of doing something nice for someone else.  Keep it up, little man.  You’re a special guy.

2 thoughts on “Chivalry is ALIVE in LA – lessons from a baby

  1. Jaime – great blog and message. I tell people that I’ve learned more from my kids than what they’ve learned from me and it’s so true. Their minds are not as “cluttered” as ours and they CAN see the forest through the trees. Great reminder from Dane to be kind to others, even strangers. You and JoAnn are doing a great job.

Leave a Reply

